Inspiration

munsters

What inspires my writing? I would have to say almost anything and everything. I think I have my Mum and her love of horror films that she used to let me watch when I was a kid to thank. I watched Dracula, Frankenstein, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde the Hammer House of Horror Films were my favourite. I then went on to read the most amazing comic which came out called Misty back in the eighties, it was full of spooky stories and the woman on the front looked a lot like a younger version of Lily Munster. Which brings me onto The Munsters and The Adams Family. I watched both of them but my all time favourite was The Munsters – I adored Herman and Lily and thought they made the perfect couple. When I was a teengager I moved onto reading as many scary books as I could and devoured anything and everything by Stephen King, Dean Koontz, James Herbert, Graham Masterton – anything that scared the living daylights out of me. So it was almost a given thing that when I began writing, my stories would have a supernatural element to them. I can never find enough of the kind of books which make me scared to get up and go to the bathroom in the middle of the night so I set about writing my own. Now I find when I’ve written something that makes the hair on the back of my neck stand on end I have to leave the house if I’m in on my own to take my mind off things that go bump in the night, but I love it and if I scare myself that much I hope that I manage to have the same effect on my readers.

Is there anything which inspires you? I would love to hear it and if you have any spooky stories that would be even better.

9 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. I love scary stories too and loved your ‘Ghost House,’ because I know that sort of thing is true, and people really do see all sorts of things which can’t be explained in any other way. I loved those old black and white horror stories too, and The Adams Family. Lynne

  2. Your truly talented; i wish you all the very best and please continue to write amazing stories! Really looking forward to reading your 2nd book xx

  3. When I was a child I bought a Ouija board with my pocket money. My mother burnt it because it scary her when my sisters and I played with it. Okay so I was a weird child, but I guess that why I write spooky short stories šŸ™‚

    1. You’re brave Paula, I’m terrified of Ouija boards, they are the one thing I would be too scared to have a go at. Yes and you write amazing spooky short stories šŸ™‚ Xx

  4. Great post, Helen. I’m more likely to be inspired by something that happens to me (or someone I know) in real life. This can be a really trivial event but then it leads to loads of “what if…?” questions and, before I know it, there’s a full-blown story in my head!
    Julie xx

Leave a Reply

